26246518

Book Review: The IT Girl – Team Awkward (Katy Birchall)

* I have been given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *

Publisher: Egmont Publishing

Pages: 320

Release Date: January 7th 2016

Summary (from Goodreads):

The brilliant sequel to The It Girl. Hilariously funny and deliciously romantic – perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison. If everything Anna does is going to be seen by more than 10 million people, then she’s determined to find something that she’s really good at. Everyone else seems to have a ‘thing’ – especially the new girl at school, who’s been distracting Connor with their shared love of art. Luckily the school sports day is looming, and Anna is limbering up! What could go wrong?

Review:

I really enjoyed the first book in the It Girl series last year, so when I saw the sequel on NetGalley I knew I had to have it!

Team Awkward sees Anna up to her usual shenanigans – being awkward and clumsy and generally misinterpreting things to get herself into all kinds of mishaps. She really is Little Miss Adorkable and you can’t help but love her for it, even if she can be frustrating at times.

All you favourite characters are back – including Anna’s hilarious pet dog, Dog – and there’s a couple of new faces to get to know and enjoy too. The main focus this time is the impending school Sports Day and Anna’s determination to prove she can be a good role model, after ‘It girls’ are labelled as basically worthless by the press (the irony there being that it’s the press who make them famous for doing nothing anyway, for reporting on when they do…nothing).

I love the non-stereotypical family Anna has going on as well. As someone who has divorced parents, who then remarried other people (and then one of them broke up again) it’s good to see something other than your typical mum, dad, sibling thing going on. Plus Anna’s family is so ridiculous you can’t fail to smile at them.

I think this is a great read for young teens – again, it reminds me of the Confessions of Georgia Nicholson books that I loved so much as a teenager – some real laugh out loud moments with plenty of heart behind it too. Perfect for fans of the series or for those looking for something fun and easy to read.

4

If you enjoyed this, you might like the first in The It Girl series

Related Post

Categories: Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.